Resources >> OSMA Internships >> Medical Student Fellowship

Medical Student Fellowship

We are now accepting applications for the 2017 Medical Student Fellow intern!  Apply Today! Deadline is February 24, 2017!

The medical student fellow will work directly with OSMA staff on areas such as health care law reform, legislation, legislative process, state payer issues and professional advocacy and so much more. The fellow will have the opportunity to attend legislative hearings, board meetings, interested party meetings, political fundraisers, continuing education events and other OSMA related functions that pique their interest.  This fellowship is conducted in partnership with the Health Policy Fellowship Intiataive (HPFI), an organization that provides education, mentorship, and networking for health policy fellows across the nation.  The fellow will participate in an educaitonal curriculum and activities hosted by HPFI throughout the summer to further augment this experience.  


  1. Commitment of at least 20 hours per week over 6-8 weeks
  2. Completion of a brief education curriculum prior to beginning the fellowship and seminars throughout the summer
  3. Commitment to participate in conference calls at least 1 hour per week with fellows around the nation.
  4. Excellent oral and written communication skills
  5. Medical Student Member of the OSMA. Join here if not a member.
The OSMA Medical Student Legislative and Advocacy Fellowship provides valuable experience working with the premier physician organization in Ohio, as well as an excellent topic of discussion during residency interviews.

Hours are flexible and will be coordinated between the fellow and members of the OSMA staff. The OSMA office is open Monday – Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Occasional evening and weekend event opportunities will be available. Fellows will receive a modest stipend as compensation for their time and efforts.
Past OSMA Medical Student Fellows:
    2016: Kara Richardson, University of Toledo College of Medicine
    2015: Jacqueline Mostow, The Ohio State University Medical School
    2014: Dheeraj Duggineni, The Ohio State University Medical School
    2013: Karen Chao, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
    2012: Marium Husain, The Ohio State University Medical School
    2012: Meena Thatikunta, Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED)
    2011-12: Elizabeth Kiracofe, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
    2011: Daniel Richardson, The Ohio State University Medical School


Find a Physician >>

5115 Parkcenter Avenue Suite 200, Dublin, OH 43017
800.766.6762 |
© 2017 The Ohio State Medical Association. All rights reserved.

Site Map >> Privacy Policy >> Terms of Use >>